Gluten Free Diet – What Not to Eat
Author: SF Beach Street Grill
Gluten free diet: What’s allowed, what’s not?
For people with celiac disease, restaurant dining can be very challenging. In fact, in a recent study by Columbia University, 86% of celiac patients said the difficulties of dining out had a negative impact on them. In a larger study at the University of Ottawa, nearly half the respondents with celiac disease said they sometimes avoided eating in restaurants.
A gluten free diet is used to treat celiac disease. A gluten free diet excludes the protein gluten, which can be found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye).
For people with celiac disease, gluten causes inflammation in the small intestines. Eating a gluten-free diet helps people with celiac disease control their signs and symptoms and prevent complications.
The hardest part of the gluten free diet is probably when you realize that wheat is in almost every processed food imaginable. Here is a list of foods to avoid when you are eating gluten free.
- Oat bran
- Oat fiber
- Wheat germ
- Wheat grass
- Graham flour
Most beer is made from grains and therefore, contains gluten.
Many other alcohols like scotch, rye, and vodka are typically made from grains that are glutinous, but are distilled, which removes the gluten, making them safe to consume.
Important note: Many people who have celiac disease or who are gluten sensitive have intestinal infections that creates a poor reaction to alcohol.
Watch for cross-contamination
Cross-contamination occurs when gluten-free foods come into contact with other foods containing gluten. This can occur during the manufacturing process, for example, if the same equipment is used to make a variety of products. Some food labels include a “may contain” statement if this is the case. But be aware that this type of statement is voluntary. You need to check the actual ingredient list. If you’re not sure whether a food contains gluten, don’t buy it or check with the manufacturer to ask what it contains.
To get results on a gluten free diet, you need to eat real food that you’ll actually enjoy. When dining out, be sure that the restaurant offers a true gluten free menu.
Gluten Free Restaurants in San Francisco
When visiting San Francisco, be sure to stop by Beach Street Grill for the best gluten free breakfast at Fisherman’s Wharf!
Article Source: http://www.articlesbase.com/cooking-tips-articles/gluten-free-diet-what-not-to-eat-6901359.html
About the Author
SF Beach Street Grill is Known for its warm hospitality and all-day breakfast,this vibrant diner is a local favorite! Serving organic and gluten free menu selections. Homemade blueberry pancakes,gravy sauced biscuits, and divine chocolate fudge are but a few of the delicious choices.